Home › Equipment, Technology & Fleet Management › SDLG Equipment Interest Rates Kenya
SDLG Equipment Interest Rates in Kenya: Understanding the Total Cost of Credit
Published 2026-10-25 · Equipment, Technology & Fleet Management · Reviewed by the SDLG Product Desk, Trust Partners Geo-Group Ltd
Key Facts at a Glance
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Topic | How equipment finance interest rates and the total cost of credit work in Kenya |
| Universal advertised rate | None exists — rates are lender-, file- and date-specific, stated in writing with total repayment |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance is the Kenyan convention; flat-rate quotes must be converted before comparison |
| Cost of credit includes | Interest + all fees + required insurance + other charges — compared as total repayment |
| Illustrative example | Assumed inputs only — arithmetic to show structure, never a term or an offer |
| Process | Written machine quotation (24 hours per Oct 2026 list) → lender application → written terms with total repayment |
The interest rate on your equipment finance is the price of the credit, not the price of the deal. On an SDLG machine purchase in Kenya, the number that decides what the finance costs is the total cost of credit — the rate, its basis, every fee, the insurance the lender requires, and the tenor, summed into one figure: total repayment. This guide explains each element with worked arithmetic whose inputs are assumed and labeled — never a term, never an offer — and tells you exactly how the real figures reach you in writing. The parent process sits in our step-by-step asset finance guide.
Why There Is No Rate on This Page
Equipment finance rates in Kenya are priced by the lender against your file, the machine, the deposit and the date — four variables that move together, which is why any universal advertised rate is a marketing figure rather than an offer. The campaign rule on this site is absolute: indicative finance content is never presented as a guaranteed offer, and no rate appears here without a dated, written source. What this page gives you instead is literacy: when the written terms arrive, you will read them the way the lender's credit committee does.
Reducing Balance vs Flat Rate
The single most common way buyers misread a quote is comparing rates on different bases:
| Basis | How interest is charged | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Reducing balance | On the outstanding balance each period — interest falls as you repay | The standard Kenyan convention; quoted rate is close to the true annual cost |
| Flat rate | On the original principal for the whole tenor | Same nominal figure costs roughly 1.7–1.9× more — convert before comparing |
The conversion rule of thumb: a flat rate converts to roughly 1.7 to 1.9 times that figure as a reducing-balance rate, depending on the tenor. So a '10% flat' quote and a '16% reducing' quote are nearly the same cost — and the reducing quote may carry lower fees. Always convert to one basis before any comparison; ask the lender directly if a quote's basis is not stated.
The Fees Around the Rate
The rate is the visible line; the fees are where costs hide. The stack to interrogate, in writing: arrangement or facility fees (a percentage of principal, charged upfront or capitalised); valuation and legal costs (especially on used machines); insurance (comprehensive cover on the financed machine, often arranged through the lender at a stated premium); late-payment and restructure charges; and early-settlement terms (the formula for paying out before the tenor ends). Each is legitimate in structure; each must be in shillings on the comparison sheet. Two quotes with identical rates and different fee stacks are different deals — the only honest comparison is total repayment.
A Worked Illustrative Run
Every input below is assumed, chosen purely to show the arithmetic. Take the listed B877F backhoe at KSh 8,600,000; assume a 20% deposit (KSh 1,720,000) financed over an assumed 60 months at an assumed reducing-balance rate of 15% per annum. The financed balance of KSh 6,880,000 repays at roughly KSh 164,000 per month, for a total repayment near KSh 9,830,000 — meaning the assumed cost of credit is roughly KSh 2,950,000 on top of the principal. Now add the assumed fees: a 2% arrangement fee (KSh 137,600), assumed insurance of KSh 120,000 per year, assumed valuation and legal of KSh 50,000 — the total cost of credit approaches KSh 3.7 million, close to 43% of the machine's cash price over five years. Every one of those numbers moves with the real terms your lender states in writing; the structure — interest, then fees, then insurance, then the honest total — does not.
Comparing Two Lender Quotes Properly
The discipline, line by line: convert both to the same rate basis; list every fee in shillings; add the insurance premiums; state deposit, tenor and total repayment for each; and note early-settlement terms and any conditions that change the effective cost. Then ask each lender the one question that settles it: what is the total amount I repay over the full tenor, including everything? Put the two written answers side by side. The comparison is then complete, honest and repeatable — the same evidence standard this site applies to machine comparisons in our CAT excavator framework and Komatsu loader edition. For the ownership-versus-hire cross-check before borrowing at all, see our long-term hire versus lease analysis with current hire pricing.
Getting Your Actual Terms
The sequence is fixed and fast on the dealer side: written machine quotation first — confirmed within 24 hours of inquiry per the October 2026 price list, with loaders, excavators, compactors and the B877F all carrying published anchors to start the arithmetic — then the lender application, then written terms stating rate basis, all fees, insurance requirements, deposit, tenor and total repayment. The deposit guide covers the upfront-cash side, the tenor guide compares the repayment shapes, and the SDLG financing hub holds the full package context across the range — excavators, wheel loaders, graders, rollers and the backhoe and compact range — with evidence-based brand comparisons for buyers still choosing machines, let alone credit.
Get the Written Terms First
Tell us the machine, your budget and your programme and the SDLG desk will issue the written machine quotation — the document every lender needs before stating any rate.
Prefer a written trail? Contact the SDLG desk
Frequently Asked Questions
What interest rate will I pay on SDLG equipment finance?
There is no rate we can honestly publish in advance: equipment finance rates in Kenya are priced by the lender against your file, the machine, the deposit and the date. Any website advertising a universal equipment rate is showing a marketing figure, not an offer. Your rate arrives in writing with your lender's terms — dated, with total repayment stated. This guide explains what the rate means and what surrounds it, so the written terms are readable when they arrive.
What is the difference between reducing balance and flat rate?
On a reducing-balance loan, interest is charged on the outstanding balance each period — so the interest portion shrinks as you repay. On a flat-rate loan, interest is charged on the original principal for the whole tenor. The same nominal percentage is not the same cost: a flat rate of 10% roughly equals a reducing-balance rate in the high teens. Kenyan equipment finance is conventionally quoted on reducing balance; if a quote arrives in flat terms, convert before comparing — our asset finance guide lists the documentation to check.
What is the total cost of credit on equipment finance?
Everything you pay to borrow, not just the interest: the interest itself, arrangement or facility fees, valuation and legal costs, the insurance the lender requires on the machine, and any other charges in the agreement — summed and compared against the cash price of the machine. The honest summary figure is total repayment: every shilling you pay back across the tenor, stated in writing. Two quotes with identical rates and different fee stacks are different costs of credit.
Do fees really change which quote is cheaper?
Yes — materially. An arrangement fee of a few percent, compulsory insurance at a marked-up premium, or valuation charges can move the effective cost by more than a point or two of rate. The comparison discipline: convert every fee into shillings, add it to the interest, and compare total repayment. A quote with a 'higher' rate and lower fees often wins that arithmetic; the only way to know is to do it.
Why does the lender require insurance on the financed machine?
Because the machine secures the loan: comprehensive insurance protects the lender's collateral and your business continuity in the same event. Budget it from the start — it is part of the cost of credit, not an optional extra — and ask what the premium covers, what the excesses are, and whether the lender's policy terms are negotiable. Insurance costs belong in the same comparison sheet as the rate.
How do I compare two lender quotes properly?
Line them up on: rate basis (reducing or flat — convert to one basis), all fees in shillings, insurance cost, deposit, tenor, total repayment, early-settlement terms, and any conditions that affect the effective cost. The single best question to ask each lender: 'What is the total amount I will repay over the full tenor, including everything?' Put the two written answers side by side — that comparison is complete and honest; anything less is marketing.
Does a bigger deposit reduce my interest rate?
Sometimes, in structure: a larger deposit reduces the lender's exposure, which can improve the pricing they offer — but it is a negotiation outcome, not a rule, and it varies by lender and file. The certain benefit is arithmetic: less borrowed means less interest whatever the rate. Compare total repayment at two deposit levels on your written quotes to see what the bigger deposit actually buys on your file.
Where do I get my actual rate and terms?
The sequence is fixed: written machine quotation first — confirmed within 24 hours of inquiry per the October 2026 price list — then the lender application, then written terms stating rate basis, all fees, insurance requirements, deposit, tenor and total repayment. The dealer packages and introduces; the lender decides everything else. Our step-by-step asset finance guide walks the sequence, the deposit guide covers the upfront-cash side, and the tenor guide compares the repayment shapes.
Related Guides
Home › Equipment, Technology & Fleet Management › SDLG Equipment Interest Rates Kenya
SDLG Equipment Interest Rates in Kenya: Understanding the Total Cost of Credit
Published 2026-10-25 · Equipment, Technology & Fleet Management · Reviewed by the SDLG Product Desk, Trust Partners Geo-Group Ltd
Key Facts at a Glance
| Item | Status |
|---|---|
| Topic | How equipment finance interest rates and the total cost of credit work in Kenya |
| Universal advertised rate | None exists — rates are lender-, file- and date-specific, stated in writing with total repayment |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance is the Kenyan convention; flat-rate quotes must be converted before comparison |
| Cost of credit includes | Interest + all fees + required insurance + other charges — compared as total repayment |
| Illustrative example | Assumed inputs only — arithmetic to show structure, never a term or an offer |
| Process | Written machine quotation (24 hours per Oct 2026 list) → lender application → written terms with total repayment |
The interest rate on your equipment finance is the price of the credit, not the price of the deal. On an SDLG machine purchase in Kenya, the number that decides what the finance costs is the total cost of credit — the rate, its basis, every fee, the insurance the lender requires, and the tenor, summed into one figure: total repayment. This guide explains each element with worked arithmetic whose inputs are assumed and labeled — never a term, never an offer — and tells you exactly how the real figures reach you in writing. The parent process sits in our step-by-step asset finance guide.
Why There Is No Rate on This Page
Equipment finance rates in Kenya are priced by the lender against your file, the machine, the deposit and the date — four variables that move together, which is why any universal advertised rate is a marketing figure rather than an offer. The campaign rule on this site is absolute: indicative finance content is never presented as a guaranteed offer, and no rate appears here without a dated, written source. What this page gives you instead is literacy: when the written terms arrive, you will read them the way the lender's credit committee does.
Reducing Balance vs Flat Rate
The single most common way buyers misread a quote is comparing rates on different bases:
| Basis | How interest is charged | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Reducing balance | On the outstanding balance each period — interest falls as you repay | The standard Kenyan convention; quoted rate is close to the true annual cost |
| Flat rate | On the original principal for the whole tenor | Same nominal figure costs roughly 1.7–1.9× more — convert before comparing |
The conversion rule of thumb: a flat rate converts to roughly 1.7 to 1.9 times that figure as a reducing-balance rate, depending on the tenor. So a '10% flat' quote and a '16% reducing' quote are nearly the same cost — and the reducing quote may carry lower fees. Always convert to one basis before any comparison; ask the lender directly if a quote's basis is not stated.
The Fees Around the Rate
The rate is the visible line; the fees are where costs hide. The stack to interrogate, in writing: arrangement or facility fees (a percentage of principal, charged upfront or capitalised); valuation and legal costs (especially on used machines); insurance (comprehensive cover on the financed machine, often arranged through the lender at a stated premium); late-payment and restructure charges; and early-settlement terms (the formula for paying out before the tenor ends). Each is legitimate in structure; each must be in shillings on the comparison sheet. Two quotes with identical rates and different fee stacks are different deals — the only honest comparison is total repayment.
A Worked Illustrative Run
Every input below is assumed, chosen purely to show the arithmetic. Take the listed B877F backhoe at KSh 8,600,000; assume a 20% deposit (KSh 1,720,000) financed over an assumed 60 months at an assumed reducing-balance rate of 15% per annum. The financed balance of KSh 6,880,000 repays at roughly KSh 164,000 per month, for a total repayment near KSh 9,830,000 — meaning the assumed cost of credit is roughly KSh 2,950,000 on top of the principal. Now add the assumed fees: a 2% arrangement fee (KSh 137,600), assumed insurance of KSh 120,000 per year, assumed valuation and legal of KSh 50,000 — the total cost of credit approaches KSh 3.7 million, close to 43% of the machine's cash price over five years. Every one of those numbers moves with the real terms your lender states in writing; the structure — interest, then fees, then insurance, then the honest total — does not.
Comparing Two Lender Quotes Properly
The discipline, line by line: convert both to the same rate basis; list every fee in shillings; add the insurance premiums; state deposit, tenor and total repayment for each; and note early-settlement terms and any conditions that change the effective cost. Then ask each lender the one question that settles it: what is the total amount I repay over the full tenor, including everything? Put the two written answers side by side. The comparison is then complete, honest and repeatable — the same evidence standard this site applies to machine comparisons in our CAT excavator framework and Komatsu loader edition. For the ownership-versus-hire cross-check before borrowing at all, see our long-term hire versus lease analysis with current hire pricing.
Getting Your Actual Terms
The sequence is fixed and fast on the dealer side: written machine quotation first — confirmed within 24 hours of inquiry per the October 2026 price list, with loaders, excavators, compactors and the B877F all carrying published anchors to start the arithmetic — then the lender application, then written terms stating rate basis, all fees, insurance requirements, deposit, tenor and total repayment. The deposit guide covers the upfront-cash side, the tenor guide compares the repayment shapes, and the SDLG financing hub holds the full package context across the range — excavators, wheel loaders, graders, rollers and the backhoe and compact range — with evidence-based brand comparisons for buyers still choosing machines, let alone credit.
Get the Written Terms First
Tell us the machine, your budget and your programme and the SDLG desk will issue the written machine quotation — the document every lender needs before stating any rate.
Prefer a written trail? Contact the SDLG desk
Frequently Asked Questions
What interest rate will I pay on SDLG equipment finance?
There is no rate we can honestly publish in advance: equipment finance rates in Kenya are priced by the lender against your file, the machine, the deposit and the date. Any website advertising a universal equipment rate is showing a marketing figure, not an offer. Your rate arrives in writing with your lender's terms — dated, with total repayment stated. This guide explains what the rate means and what surrounds it, so the written terms are readable when they arrive.
What is the difference between reducing balance and flat rate?
On a reducing-balance loan, interest is charged on the outstanding balance each period — so the interest portion shrinks as you repay. On a flat-rate loan, interest is charged on the original principal for the whole tenor. The same nominal percentage is not the same cost: a flat rate of 10% roughly equals a reducing-balance rate in the high teens. Kenyan equipment finance is conventionally quoted on reducing balance; if a quote arrives in flat terms, convert before comparing — our asset finance guide lists the documentation to check.
What is the total cost of credit on equipment finance?
Everything you pay to borrow, not just the interest: the interest itself, arrangement or facility fees, valuation and legal costs, the insurance the lender requires on the machine, and any other charges in the agreement — summed and compared against the cash price of the machine. The honest summary figure is total repayment: every shilling you pay back across the tenor, stated in writing. Two quotes with identical rates and different fee stacks are different costs of credit.
Do fees really change which quote is cheaper?
Yes — materially. An arrangement fee of a few percent, compulsory insurance at a marked-up premium, or valuation charges can move the effective cost by more than a point or two of rate. The comparison discipline: convert every fee into shillings, add it to the interest, and compare total repayment. A quote with a 'higher' rate and lower fees often wins that arithmetic; the only way to know is to do it.
Why does the lender require insurance on the financed machine?
Because the machine secures the loan: comprehensive insurance protects the lender's collateral and your business continuity in the same event. Budget it from the start — it is part of the cost of credit, not an optional extra — and ask what the premium covers, what the excesses are, and whether the lender's policy terms are negotiable. Insurance costs belong in the same comparison sheet as the rate.
How do I compare two lender quotes properly?
Line them up on: rate basis (reducing or flat — convert to one basis), all fees in shillings, insurance cost, deposit, tenor, total repayment, early-settlement terms, and any conditions that affect the effective cost. The single best question to ask each lender: 'What is the total amount I will repay over the full tenor, including everything?' Put the two written answers side by side — that comparison is complete and honest; anything less is marketing.
Does a bigger deposit reduce my interest rate?
Sometimes, in structure: a larger deposit reduces the lender's exposure, which can improve the pricing they offer — but it is a negotiation outcome, not a rule, and it varies by lender and file. The certain benefit is arithmetic: less borrowed means less interest whatever the rate. Compare total repayment at two deposit levels on your written quotes to see what the bigger deposit actually buys on your file.
Where do I get my actual rate and terms?
The sequence is fixed: written machine quotation first — confirmed within 24 hours of inquiry per the October 2026 price list — then the lender application, then written terms stating rate basis, all fees, insurance requirements, deposit, tenor and total repayment. The dealer packages and introduces; the lender decides everything else. Our step-by-step asset finance guide walks the sequence, the deposit guide covers the upfront-cash side, and the tenor guide compares the repayment shapes.